2K15. Phoebe’s Comeback Tour.

2K15. Phoebe’s Comeback Tour.

It’s been months, guys. Months. Admittedly, I lost the blogging mojo in the crazy that was the end of 2K14, and Phoebegoeswest has been collecting cobwebs. I admit it. But, to all of those who were once loyal followers, or at least to those trollers out there who serendipitously stumbled upon Phoebegoeswest at some point…well, I say this to you, first and foremost:

Pleading, Rose Dawson, and heart-shattering-tin-whistling background music aside, I’ve really missed this, and vow to try and give the 2K15 Phoebe Comeback Tour my old college try.

I’ve decided that I’m really digging some positive change in 2015. It’s a great number first off, and who doesn’t love a good multiple of 5?

Anyway, being a keen observer* of the new-agey, social-mediay meow cats that we are in this new year (*by keen observer, I mean I have a Facebook page), I have noticed that lists are really hot these days. You know what I’m talking about. There are the Gif-filled lists advertising the weird shit that pugs do or the endless abyss of lists about man buns. There are the Elite-Daily-esque lists, which are a basic betch’s ten commandments and tell us, repeatedly, the 100 things we absolutely MUST do before we turn 30. <<These lists generally feature an inspirational picture of the girl-next-door-actuallyjustkiddingI’mKateMoss-type of lady doing a yoga pose, (which, the mere thought of would cause the average human to crumple back into savasana and call it a day), while the sun is setting on a mountaintop.

But anyway, the main reason I even brought it up is because I don’t want to be left behind in this age of bullet points and numbering, and I want to make a list of my own. So, here is to leap-of-faithing into this awesome multiple of a year, and starting it with a soul-bloggin’ list of Six Things that I Learned about in 2014.

  1. Your Palate can Change:

I hated olives in 2013. Hated ‘em. My dad and I used to call them, “grapes with a bad attitude.” And then somewhere between spending time in Europe and having my host mom choke those salty little punks down my throat every few days, I started to love the little rascals. I mean it. I’ve bought several containers chalked full of olives in 2014. My dad still hates them. And I still mostly hate black olives, but crazy how taste can change, you know? I spent 21 years learning to hate those chewy little guys, only to unlearn it all in the past year.

Former relationship with olives.

Former relationship with olives.

Anyway, I guess there is a bigger picture message here about how interests and people can change, and that’s not necessarily a bad thing at all.

  1. You’re going to get gum on the bottom of your shoe.. or worse.

There was seriously a 3-week period where, between my house and friends out here, at least one person stepped in dog poop or gum a week. And, you know what, it sucks. But make that loud, sticky march to the bathroom or that smelly walk of shame to the nearest patch of grass and wipe it off. And move on. Because that’s life, yo.

And remember, it can always be worse.

  1. “Let it Go”

One of the first people I met in Seattle introduced me to a poem by Mary Oliver, called In Blackwater Woods. The poem is really beautiful, and I especially love the last few lines:

blackwaterwoods

I think about those lines a lot in my daily life. For me, this has been my first year out of college. It’s the first full year where I am not living in the proximity of my family and most of my best friends. It’s the first year that I don’t lead that flexible college schedule that permitted mid-week benders and sleeping late on a weekday. And to top off the crazy, I decided to move to Seattle, Washington, where I knew no one. I don’t regret any of it. But, in this whirlwind of a year, I’ve encountered my fair share of loss. Whether it’s the void in my life when I remember that I fall 2,000 miles outside of the delivery zones of my favorite pizza places in Ann Arbor, or it’s a more rattling loss, a loss of interest or passion, a loss that redefines friendships, relationships, or personal perspectives, the conclusion I ‘ve drawn is that loss is an inevitable part of moving forward.

Mary Oliver and the new Disney classic, Frozen, say it well: “Let it go.” In my year of losses and gains, the biggest truth I have drawn is that letting go can be liberating. And it doesn’t mean forgetting either. Honoring our past, but recognizing change and allowing ourselves to shred what has the potential to slow our forward motion is healthy (and very 2K15). So here’s to loving what is mortal and appreciating the beauty of now and what it took to get to “now,” and letting go of some of the excess along the way.

  1. Friends who Karaoke together stay together.

 My friends and I went out to karaoke several months ago, while our friendships were still blossoming, and I happened to capture this raw, and beautiful clip on camera. And by on camera, I basically mean, on audio, because you can’t actually see anything. But the moral here is, I think you know you’ve got a true friend when they are willing to give you the honest truth about your karaoke performance, and then you can shake it off and sing “I’ll make a man out of you.”

  1. Humble bragging is for weenies.

Don’t be a humble bragger. And please, don’t be a humble bragger who follows up with #blessed. Please.

  1. And lastly, it doesn’t matter where you are, but who you’re with

Seriously, it doesn’t matter. Sure, I love a great venue as much as the next guy, but sometimes a bottle of wine and a comfy couch or the BDub’s Happy Hour where you are surrounded by families eating smiley fries and awkward high school cliques are the greatest places to be, dependent on the company.

See how happy we look?

See how happy we look?

That said, being in an awesome place with an awesome person can be pretty neat. Here are some of my fav people and I doing our end of 2014 thing.

On that polaroid 2K15 hustle

On that polaroid 2K15 hustle

Thriftin with mah main girl, ABU

Thriftin with mah main girl, ABU

Bench warming with a cool cat

Bench warming with a cool cat

my people

my people

homies

homies

PBR & paper bags

PBR & paper bags

new years, new friends, old friends

new years, new friends, old friends

da roomz

da roomz

Thanks for the lessons, the good times, the new friends and the old, 2014. Here’s to 2K15.

-Phoebe

 

2 comments

  1. Enjoyed the post, Paige. I’m stickin’ with hatin’ olives, but more Karaoke in 2015 for sure. Mardi sent me a card last year with the Mary Oliver poem you cited, spooky cool!

    Great pics, first photo is a Foster classic!

    I’ve been working hard on Rocket Man, again, a song I’ve tried to master 4 or 5 different times over my lifetime – I could have let that one go, but I’m not gonna, I think I’ve finally figured it out. Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

